The Saucy Knave Redux

Anyone remember this board? Or this post?

This is the board that launched this blog, way back in the mists of time (July last year). This was the second board I painted, and the one where I decided that painted surfboards were going to be my vehicle to international fame and fortune.

Fast-forward to nowish, and this is board #9. My acrylic skills have improved, apparently so have my top-hat drawing skills and I’ve got an exhibition booked for October! Wheeee!

I decided it was time to step it up a notch and indulge my obsession for South American flora: monstera leaves, stag horn ferns, custard apples and those sexy, sexy pitcher plants.

pitcher plant and ace of spades on a painted surfboard

Of course, it wouldn’t be a Fieldey board unless it was jam-packed with lovingly rendered cliches.

Dia de los Muertos skull with top hat and cravat

I learnt how to glaze acrylic paint and it’s added more depth to the work… it means they take twice as long to paint, but I think it’s probably worth it! Another pro tip I also figured out: don’t outline teeth. There you go, that’s how you avoid Goofy Mouth Syndrome.

Dia de los muertos skull holding a cigar and wearing a tophat

Obviously there’s some biblical references in here as well… the custard apple of knowledge; a more delicious update on the original.

Yellow snake wrapped around arm with custard apple

In other big news, I joined up to Twitter a few weeks ago and entered a twitter competition run by Saber, a Los Angeles graffitti icon, to win a page in Juxtapoz magazine. I sent through some examples of the boards, and was stoked, STOKED! to find out that I got listed 5th on his blog… 5th! Out of like, the world!

Here’s what he said:

Surfs up! Great detailed works on surfboards. Tiki, skulls, and beach ladies are usually usual, but this guy* rocks it! Definitely an updated twist to an older art movement using crisp, clean, graphic style painting style on an unforgiving medium. Just playing around with surfboards takes a bit of know-how and a sense of craftsmanship.

So I guess this means the international fame and fortune are just around the corner right?

*Slight gender mix-up there, my fault for not specifying on my Twitter feed…

6 Comments

Filed under Art, Photography, Surfing

6 responses to “The Saucy Knave Redux

  1. I think you have a unique talent that radiates your love of Art, keep up the good work and I’ll re post you sure..Jeff aka The Ding Man (caring surfboard repairs)

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on South Coast Custom Surfboards and commented:
    I think you have a unique talent that radiates your love of Art, keep up the good work and I’ll re post you sure..Jeff aka The Ding Man (caring surfboard repairs)

    Like

  3. Wow, exhibition and fifth out of the world!! And why not? Your art skills continue to impress me and give me deep pangs of envy! 0_0 Oh, but good pangs, you know. It was also cool to see the two surf boards side by side. I thought you were awesome back then, but now I’m like… asdjsdk, SHE managed to improve what seemed un-improvable. Keep going and congrats again ^^

    Like

    • Awww shucks – thanks Moof! It’s always strange looking back at your older stuff eh? I thought that original board was soooo shit-hot and now I look at it and cover my eyes in shame. But I’m not published yet… unlike you, you crazy talented lady you!

      Like

  4. Pingback: Drawing Flowers | She Waited on the Couch to Die

  5. Pingback: Screaming skull old school tattoo surf art

Leave a Reply

