Inspirational Friday: Beautiful death ~ renaissance anatomy etchings

I’ve been busy moving house for the past week, so poor bloggy has been sadly neglected but I’d like to take the time out to share with you one of my favourite things: anatomy drawings.

I was recently browsing my favourite bookstore and found a book on historical Anatomy Drawings, and since I’m always trawling the web for images of “skulls looking up” or “skeleton hand smoking” and it was awesomely cheap, I bought it. Inside I found drawings and etchings of horrifyingly beautiful complexity – I’ve included some of the ones I found most evocative and stunning and spared you guys the more explicit and nightmare-inducing examples like the severed torso giving birth and the flayed man casually standing with his hide flung jauntily over shoulder.

I think there’s a bit of yin and yang in all things in life no?

Renaissance Anatomy skeletons

Renaissance anatomy skeleton etchings

Anatomy arm

Skeleton and rhinocerous

crying anatomy skeleton

skulls

vintage anatomy etching

anatomy skulls with diseases

4 Comments

Filed under Art, Inspiration, skulls

4 responses to “Inspirational Friday: Beautiful death ~ renaissance anatomy etchings

  1. moofiefate

    Severed torso giving birth?
    Now I’m intrigued…

    Like

  2. Brandon

    What is the books name I would like to find it ? Thanks

    Like

  3. Sebastian

    What is the title of the book you found? I’d be interested to read it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

