The great pin challenge of 2012 – Day #4

Workspace with Molotow Belton cans

So while you guys were all skydiving, Flyboarding and  jet-skiing on the weekend, I was at home shackled to my desk and painting a bowling pin. It’s the most challenging commission I’ve had for sure – but it’s looking so sweet, if I may say so myself!

The pin was fairly beat-up, so I had to prepare it by filling in the holes with moulding paste and then sanding it a million times over… I did that twice. After I had a nice smooth(ish) surface I sprayed the whole thing with Belton Molotow paints, and spent two days painting Australian native plants and a set of wings onto it’s smooth, hairless sides.

I’m thinking that this is going to be the pimpingest Australian-native-plant-and-fontier-mythology themed bowling pin around.

Custom painted bowling pin in progress

Custom painted bowling pin in progress with wings

Custom painted bowling pin in progress 3

 

2 Comments

Filed under Art, In progress

2 responses to “The great pin challenge of 2012 – Day #4

  1. moofiefate

    Yah, so your detail makes me sick ~__~ Oh, in a good way you know. And the colors!! ::dances::

    Like

Leave a Reply

