Shark love ~ Hawaii pinup style

Finished commission surfboard artwork

After three weeks in the making, this beautiful custom made and painted board is ready to be shipped to Karen in Florida! Karen contacted me via my website, asking if I could hand paint a surfboard for her. Working with my pals at Oceanline Surfboards here in Western Australia, we created this 6’8″ Funboard Egg with custom deck sprays and artwork. This baby is going to be queen of the waves!

Pictures of the whole process are below, but if you’re interested in having a board painted or getting a custom Fieldey inlay for a board you are having made, please either contact me or fill in the commissions form on my website.

Sketch for the commission artwork

It all starts with a sketch – the initial concept sketch I sent to Karen.

Work in progress

The painting begins – I’m using Molotow One4All inks for this

Hawaiian pinup girl face

Detail shot

Clear coating the surfboard

Taking the board back to the shapers, we coat it in 2-pack clear coat to protect the artwork for surfing

Fieldey and the custom board

Kissing the board goodbye before I send it off

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Commission, Retro, Surf Art, Surfboard, Surfing, Western Australia

Leave a Reply

